Skip to Content

Published on January 14, 2008

Mercy's stroke care program awarded re-certification from Joint Commission

Cedar Rapids-Mercy  Medical Center  has again earned the Gold Seal of Approval® from The Joint Commission for Primary Stroke Centers.  Mercy is one of only six hospitals in Iowa with this distinction.

The two-year extension for Disease-Specific Care (DSC) certification from The Joint Commission recognizes Mercy's continued success in complying with the Commission's nationally-recognized standards for health care. 

"We're proud to again achieve the distinction," says Rose Allen, Mercy's Director of Clinical Outcomes and Research. "Joint Commission Primary Stroke Center Certification recognizes Mercy's ongoing commitment to providing outstanding care to our patients and our community."

The Joint Commission evaluates and accredits nearly 17,000 health care organizations and programs nationwide.  The Mercy Stroke Center program first won Joint Commission certification in 2005.  A list of programs certified by The Joint Commission is available at

Each year about 700,000 people experience a new or recurrent stroke, which is the nation's third leading cause of death. On average, someone suffers a stroke ever 45 second and someone dies of a stroke every 3.1 minutes.

Section Links

Login to MyChart
Find A Doc