Skip to Content

Published on April 23, 2014

UIHA Announces Fifth Member

Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare-Iowa Brings Three Hospitals and Physician Clinics to Alliance

The University of Iowa Health Alliance (UIHA) announced today that Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare-Iowa (Wheaton) is joining as its fifth organizational member. This new member brings additional health care providers and facilities to the alliance in Cedar Falls, Oelwein, Waterloo and surrounding areas in Northeast Iowa.

“We have been working for nearly two years to advance high quality health care services, and to improve the health status of patients and communities across the state,” said University of Iowa Health Alliance Chairman Dave Vellinga. “The addition of Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare significantly strengthens our efforts to better coordinate patient care and improve clinical integration throughout Iowa.” 

Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare-Iowa President and CEO Jack Dusenbery said, “The agreement will allow us to strengthen management of population health and expand our health care provider referral network. We look forward to contributing to the alliance’s clinical integration efforts, providing the right care at the right place and time.” He noted that the UIHA physician recruitment efforts will also strengthen his organization’s ability to provide care.

The agreement does not involve a merger of assets or changes in ownership and control. Wheaton maintains its legacy and independence, and commitment to local missions and governance authorities. The organization does agree to work with other UIHA members on helping to develop and implement evidence-based care and best practices for keeping populations healthy, as well as sharing of selected support services and information technologies needed to succeed in the emerging “accountable care” systems and payment programs.

Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare President and Chief Executive Officer John D. Oliverio said, “This is a significant step in our efforts to navigate health care reform.  The alliance has been working on a number of solutions to provide value to patients, employers and insurance carriers. We believe there is significant merit to their efforts.”

Formally announced in June 2012, UIHA includes Genesis Health System, Mercy-Cedar Rapids, Mercy Health Network (including hospitals affiliated with Catholic Health Initiatives and CHE Trinity Health, Livonia, Mich.), and University of Iowa Health Care. This alliance includes 58 hospitals and 175 clinics across Iowa with key locations in Cedar Falls, Cedar Rapids, Davenport, Des Moines, Dubuque, Iowa City, Mason City, Sioux City and Waterloo.

Section Links

Mercy News

Login to MyChart
Find A Doc