Skip to Content

Mercy Sports Care Certified Athletic Trainers

Providing injury care and prevention at area high schools and colleges.

Mercy's team is dedicated to student athletes and their endeavors on- and off-the-field. Our certified and licensed athletic trainers work with athletes from local high schools, universities and youth programs. They specialize in educating athletes in ways to prevent injuries, as well as recognizing, managing and rehabilitating injuries and athletic-related illnesses when they do occur.

As part of a complete healthcare team, ATCs work under the direction of a licensed physician and in cooperation with other healthcare professionals, such as physical therapists and orthopedic surgeons. They also work in conjunction with the athlete, parents, coaches and school administrators to provide the best care possible for the student athlete. As required by law, all of our ATCs are certified by the NATABOC and licensed by the State of Iowa.

Our Team

Katie Kimmich, ATC, LATJefferson High School
Katie Kimmich,
ATC, LAT

kkimmich@mercycare.org

Lynn GrothKennedy High School
Lynn Groth,
ATC, LAT

lgroth@mercycare.org

Heather SchellhornMarion High School
Heather Schellhorn,
ATC, LAT

hschellhorn@mercycare.org

Michelle BartelsWashington High School
Michelle Bartels,
ATC, LAT

mbartels@mercycare.org

Alecia PulsMt. Mercy
University

Alecia Puls,
ATC, LAT

apuls@mercycare.org

Lydia RichMt. Mercy
University

Lydia Rich,
ATC, LAT


lrich@mercycare.org

Additional ATC Staff:

Bill Grudzinski PTA, ATC, LAT
Kim Jaeger, PT, ATC, LAT
Jason Lewis, PTA, ATC, LAT
Shannon Miers, PT, ATC, LAT
Tracy Novak, PTA, ATC, LAT

Contact Information

Location:
Jefferson High School
Kennedy High School
Marion High School
Washington High School
Mt. Mercy University

Phone Number:
(319) 398-6020

Hours:
Dependent upon school needs.